Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library
475 Moe Road, Clifton Park, NY 12065 | (518) 371-8622
Your Community Center for Lifelong Learning
Home->Research

Categories

Business & Industry (Company Profiles, Employment, Finance, Investment)

Education (Practice Tests, Language Tools)

Genealogy (U.S. Census Records, Social Security Death Index, Civil War Service Records, etc.)

Health and Medicine (Diseases, Prevention, Treatment,...)

Homework Help (Magazines, Encyclopedias, Newspaper Articles appropriate for student use)

Literature (Reader's Advisory, contemporary novelists, & poets, discussions of authors and their works)

Reference (Encyclopedias, Phone Directories, Practice Exams,...)

Magazines & Newspapers (Full Text Articles, Journals)

Alphabetical List
Please Note: A valid Clifton Park - Halfmoon Public Library card is required for use of research websites from a location outside of the Library. The research websites followed by an asterisk (*) are only available from inside of the Library.


Business and Industry
Business and Company ASAP Business & Company Resource Center provides access to a wide variety of global business information including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, business rankings, company histories and much more. Title List. Provided by NOVEL.
EBSCO Career Library Information resource to help users match their interests to occupations, education prospects, and more.
Proquest Platinum Provides full-text of magazines and journals, such as Barron's, Money, Newsweek, Time, U.S. News and World Reports and Consumer Reports. Title List. Provided by NOVEL
Reference USA Residential and business telephone numbers, addresses and additional information.

Return to Subject Listing

Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition Start your own genealogy using the U.S. Census (1790-1930), New York Passenger lists (1851-1891), World War I Draft Registration Cards (1917-1918), Civil War Service Records, the Social Security Death Index, and the England, Wales, Scotland & Ireland Parish and Probate Records plus much more.In Library Use only.
Heritage Quest Online Expand your family research...Easy-to-use images from this collection of 20,000 family and local history books, and access to the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI) collection of publications from genealogy and historical societies from across the United States. Both of these are searchable by name and place. Also includes U. S. census images (1790-1930). REMOTE ACCESS IS AVAILABLE-Do your research from home!
New York Times Historical Newspapers, 1851-2004 Do you have relatives who lived in or around New York City? Were they in business there? Were they born or married there, or did they die there? Did they have some New York State or national claim to fame? Did they serve in the military? You may find them in the Historical New York Times database. Don't skip this great genealogical resource which you can also search from home.

Return to Subject Listing

Health and Medicine
Health and Wellness Resource Center Health-related magazine and newspaper articles on diseases, medicine, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, and insurance. Includes the alternative health module. Alternative Module Title List, Title List. Provided by NOVEL.

Return to Subject Listing

Education
Learning Express Library Sharpen your skills and improve your score with online practice tests, instant scoring, personalized evaluations and self-paced courses. Includes basic skills tests, GED, SAT, Graduate School Entrance Exams, Teacher Certification exams, Real Estate, U.S. Citizenship, EMS, Civil Service Careers and more. Provided by the Southern Adirondack and Mohawk Valley Library Systems.
Mango LanguagesMango's online language learning system focuses on teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages. Mango Languages currently the following language courses -- Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Italian, Greek, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, ESL for Polish speakers, ESL for Spanish speakers, and ESL for Brazilian Portuguese speakers, and more.

Return to Subject Listing

General Reference Tools
Country Watch Facts and figures, maps and statistics plus detailed articles on economy, environment, and political conditions.
EBSCO Animals Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals. Provided by NOVEL.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Online version of the encyclopedia searchable by subject or keyword. Provided by NOVEL.
Grolier Online Includes Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples, America the Beautiful, New Book of Popular Science and New Book of Knowledge
Novelist Plus Find books by your favorite author, look for a specific title, or series. Not sure about those? Try searching for words describing the kind of book you'd like to read. Now includes nonfiction titles in addition to fiction titles.
Reference USA Residential and business telephone numbers, addresses and additional information.
Salem History The full text of important documents in American history from 1763 to 2003. Related information includes an explanation and analysis of each document and the impact of the document on society. Searchable by subject and by name. In Library Use only.
Twayne's Author Series Critical interpretation and discussion of the works of 600 authors. The discussions of each author in the series are between 175-200 printed pages. Provided by NOVEL.

Return to Subject Listing

Literature
Novelist Plus Find books by your favorite author, look for a specific title, or series. Not sure about those? Try searching for words describing the kind of book you'd like to read. Now includes nonfiction titles in addition to fiction titles.
Twayne's Author Series Critical interpretation and discussion of the works of 600 authors. The discussions of each author in the series are between 175-200 printed pages. Provided by NOVEL.

Return to Subject Listing

Magazines and Newspapers
Custom Newspapers This full text newspaper database has more than 95 major newspapers, including The Times Union (Albany), The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Washington Post, Dallas Morning News, The Times (London) and the Gannett family of papers. Title List. Provided by NOVEL.
InfoTrac K12 Kids Magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles selected for elementary school curriculum. Title List
New York State Newspapers Included are the Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Herald-Journal (Syracuse), Journal News (Westchester), New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times, Post-Standard (Syracuse), Press & Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton), Rochester Democrat and Chronicle.
National Newspaper Index An index to the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Dates covered are 1977 to the present. Provided by NOVEL.
The New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Newsbank This full-text database contains past articles from The Daily Gazette (Schenectady), The Times Union (Albany), The Saratogian, The Troy Record, The Boston Globe and other U.S. newspapers. Also included is the full text of popular news, business and sports magazines.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Full text of journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Title List. Provided by NOVEL
Primary Search Full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines, such as Ranger Rick, Time for Kids, Highlights for Children. Also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Title List. Provided by NOVEL.
Proquest Platinum Provides full-text of magazines and journals, such as Barron's, Money, Newsweek, Time, U.S. News and World Reports and Consumer Reports. Title List. Provided by NOVEL
Searchasaurus Current events and magazine database for elementary and middle school students.

Return to Subject Listing

NOVEL logo NOVEL is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library. It is currently a project funded through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the New York State Library by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

To find out how NOVEL can become a permanent resource for all New Yorkers, click here - New Century Libraries web site.

New Century Libraries is an important statewide funding initiative currently before the Legislature that seeks permanent state funding and continued support for NOVEL.

About Us | Site Map | Internet Policy | Contact Us | ©2006-2010 Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library
Hosted by Netheaven